30 Day Book Challenge – DAY 30

banner_30daychallenge

The 30 Day Book Challenge is run by Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic.

Today’s Prompt: DAY 30. – Book you couldn’t put down.

The Answer?

day 30 - killer inside me

There are a lot of books that pull me in and make me wish I didn’t have to put them down, but The Killer Inside Me took it to a whole different level. I had never heard of The Killer Inside Me before I spotted it on display while browsing the shelves at Half Price Books. I had never read a crime novel before, but I like crime dramas and the title was intriguing. I read the back cover:

“Deputy Sheriff Lou Ford is a pillar of the community in his small Texas town; patient, polite and well liked. Some people think he’s a little slow and boring, and that’s the worst they say about him. But then, nobody knows about the sickness. It almost got Lou put away when he was younger, and now the sickness is about to surface again. Only this time, Lou’s family aren’t around to keep an eye on him.

When the list of people who end up dead in Central City increases, Lou Ford faces some very difficult questions. Will those who start to wonder about their affable Deputy Sheriff connect the sinister events in his past to the town’s violent present? Instantly gripping and often disturbing, The Killer Inside Me is a classic suspense novel.”

It sounded interesting and intense. I read the first chapter, and got to the line “Striking at people that way is almost as good as the other, the real way.” I was basically hooked from there. I bought the book, took it home, and finished all 220 pages that very same day. It was the “chilling and believable first-person story” the endorsement on the front cover promised. In fact, it was so believable that I had to make sure the author, Jim Thompson, had not actually been a serial killer.

This book is a great example of why I don’t pigeon hole myself into a single genre. You never know what you may find when you branch out.

Do you like to read outside your usual genre? Is there a book you couldn’t put down?

About Tanya (Read. Run. Study.)

I am a graduate student in the sciences. When I’m not busy with school, I relax by heading out for a run or curling up with a good book.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Book Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30 Day Book Challenge – DAY 30

  1. I gotta check out this book, it looks really good! Will add to my goodreads now. Thanks for sharing! :)

  2. Let me know what you think about it if you pick it up.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013 | Read. Run. Study.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Read in 2013 | Read. Run. Study.

  5. Pingback: 2013 End of Year Book Survey | Read. Run. Study.

Leave a Reply

